「handmade」Knitted Pink-Purple Sweater

It’s the first time I knitted a piece of clothing for myself. In general I do more crocheting than knitting and did several baby clothing items throughout my pregnancy and after but never  “challenged” myself to make something for myself, until now!
1
This knitting project basically took me about 2 months to finish – I used yarn & needle size 2-3 (EU sizes) but NO PATTERN!!! For measurements I simply used a bought sweater that I knew fits me well and that I liked wearing. I just looked at it constantly while making this and measuring different parts.

I really liked the pink-purple colour-interchanging wool, that has some white sprinkled in here and there to give it somewhat distressed look. I knitted this sweater in 4 pieces – basically only using garter stitch except for the hem and edges.

Starting of with the front I knitted the right and left side of the collar seperately then joined everything on one round needle at the tip of the v-neck there. For the backside I could start with one round needle right away and simply knitting from top to bottom copying the measurements and stitch counts from the front. But I kind of knitted a slope on the right and left shoulder so it would fit more comfortably and hug my shoulders rather than give it a rectangular look. The slope was about as wide as the right and leftside top of the front piece. You can see I joined them together in the following photo.
2
Both arms were knitted in one piece and then joined on the on the bottom side were it matches up with the side-seams of joining front and back. I did pay attention to knitting the arms in the shape of the armhole on the top so it hugs my shoulder-upper-arm-joint nicely.

The hem & edging was simply done in a knit2-purl2 rhythm so make it a bit more stretchty and just giving it a nice visual finishing touch. I think you find that most of the bought sweaters have similar patterns.
3
For the edge on the neckline I decided to first slip stitch with a crochet hook to get a basic line, then half-double crochet around it again. Lastly I did a second half-double-crochet row around that neckline but crochet together every 5th-6th stitch. That way it’s less loose, especially at the tip of the v-neck and around the corners on the shoulers
4

I have to say I’m quite proud about my very first knitted clothing piece for myself. I wasn’t 100% sure I could pull it off  (only 95%, hehe), but I just sat down and started knitting and figured my way from there – step by step.

2 thoughts on “「handmade」Knitted Pink-Purple Sweater

    1. Danke dir ❤
      Ich habe zwischendrin auch mal gewzeifelt ob ich es schaffe, und vor allem ob er auch "anziehbar" ist und aussieht, aber ich bin ganz stolz den Pullover hinbekommen zu haben ohne Mustervorlage (habe mir immer notiert jeden schritt und jetzt 3 seiten eigenhändig geschriebenes Muster erstellt quasi 🙂

      ich habe die gleich Art von Wolle noch in verschiedenen Blautönen aus denen ich mir nochmal so ein Pullover stricken wollte, mal schauen ob das nächsten Winter was wird 🙂

Leave a Reply

