Learn to be what you are『blogtober 2014』

Day 12 of blogtober 2014 is here with another nice prompt…

Best advice you’ve been given

Throughout life, we’ve been given all sorts of advice – good & bad, from different people – again, good & bad. I remember my mother and grandmother were always on my side in times of worry or sadness and told me many things that helped me in those situations, and somewhat shaped me as the person I am today. I also take many advice from sayings and/or books I’ve read, beginning in early childhood.

The advice that has been stuck in my mind for years now, is a quote that I’ve read somewhere I don’t even remember, but the essence of it just feels so strong.

Learn to be what you are.
And learn to resign with all good grace,
all that you are not.

– by Henri-Frédéric Amiel (1821-1881)

In my opinion, these few words have everything a good advice need – both: do & don’t, self-reflection, stating that all of it is a process and not achieved in a blink of an eye. I feel that true happiness & satisfaction in life can be achieved when one is totally aware of who they are & at the same time of who they are not – and most importantly: if they can let go of the part they are not. It really is a process to understanding to be content with the person you are, with all the good & bad traits you might have. And also letting go of an image of someone you think you need to be, or want to be due to certain influences from the outside.

The realization of who you truely are as a person, followed by the unconditional acceptance of that person is something worth striving for, isn’t it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

