A totally different world 『blogtober 2014』

Ohhhh day 7 of blogtober 2014 is quite and interesting prompt, and I’ll answer with pictures!

Your best/worst vacation
My worst vacation was a 4-day trip to Rome in 2010. I’ve always wanted to see the city to which all roads lead…I loved most of the sights, the pretty churches, the ancient architecture, the wine & pizza and our lovely little boutique style hotel. My favourite place was a park where the Villa Borghese is located – so peaceful & relaxing. But, Rome was also so very loud (street noises and people), kind of dirty and smelly, many italians were rude to us and I felt literally sick by the end of the trip. Didn’t make for many good memories.

Now on to the more fun part: my best vacation. Technically speaking, I should answer Tokyo, Japan. Been there the most out of all my travel destinations and leave a little piece of my heart there every time we go. However, Tokyo feels like “home away from home” to me. Going there is like “coming home” and when I can’t be there I feel homesick for the city. So it doesn’t quite fit as an anser to this prompt. (Maybe someday I’ll write a seperate post dedicated only to my love for that part of the world)

Instead, I want to tell you about my best vacation destination (outside of Japan): REYKJAVIK, ICELAND. We went for a sponateous 4-day trip to Reykjavik in 2012. We literally decided the day I finished writing my BA thesis, booked the next day and went the day after that. I always wanted to go, because it just seemed cool and not so stereotypical touristy. Once we landed and were in the bus shuttle to our hotel, it felt like a totally different world – a place like no other – refreshing and adventurous – fascinating and a bit magical at the same time. The people were so friendly, talking to you as if you’re just another buddy of them. There was no franchise chain to be seen anywhere (no starbucks, no McDonalds, none of the clothing chain stores), but wifi connection almost anywhere and woman that didn’t follow the mainstream fashion or “diet” trend. The only thing that takes a bit getting used to, is the tap water that has a very strong sulphur odor to it (naturally). The air I breathed felt so pure & clear…it was indescribable. Let me show you a little selection of pictures I took:

1
Reykjavik 101 – the city, basically (Photo taken from the top of the Hallgrimskirkja)

52
Hallgrímskirkja with statue of Leif Ericson (970 – 1020) – a Norse explorer regarded as the first European to land in North America nearly 500 years before Christopher Columbus.

2
Sólfar – The Sun Voyager. It’s a dreamboat, an ode to the sun. Intrinsically, it contains within itself the promise of undiscovered territory, a dream of hope, progress and freedom.

3
Me on the huge stones along the sea-shore promenade leading into the city. We’ve been there during the summer when it never gets dark. This golden sunset atmosphere that I just loved, it’s the darkest it will get. We actually took this picture at “night around 11pm”.

4
During our “Golden Circle” day trip, we drove into the “land”. Here we are at a field with lots of different sized geysers, shooting up fountains of water every 5 minutes to an hour. This one was calmly waiting…

5
It’s the Strokkur, the most famous geyser of Iceland! The water shot up really high, I was just too quick snapping this picture, it was building up right here^

6
The Golden Waterfalls. This place really seemed like a magical dreamland. So different from anywhere I’ve ever been before.

7
Kerið is a volcanic crater lake located in the Grímsnes area in south Iceland.

8
Me at Kerið. I liked this little spot A LOT. The beautiful nature, the beautiful colours of nature, it’s breathtaking!

9
We also went to the Blue Lagoon – a geothermal spa located in a lava field in Grindavík on the Reykjanes Peninsula, southwestern Iceland. The black laval field and the very warm blue water, it’s such a cool place to hang out and relax.

10
And of course, I have to add a picture of a troll! An Iceland picture post wouldn’t be the same without a troll in it!

Iceland really felt like I’ve been plunged into another world, like dream. A dream vacation that now became one of my most treasured vacation memories.

Leave a Reply

