(Crochet) Baby Poncho – Little Owls

I really need to post more of my handmade projects, since I have finished so many lately. This time I want to show you the little Crochet Baby Poncho I made. I saw a photo of the poncho where it was made up of simple granny squares, but of course I wanted to add a little personality to it and just had to turn it into an OWL PONCHO (^_^)

DSCN1406

I first did the owl crochet parts, doing every owl twice so front and back matches! Then I put them all together in this shape and started with the edge…

DSCN1409

The edge is made up of bundles of double crochet stiches and then a row of shell stitches to make it look all nice and neat.

DSCN1407

For the arm-holes/cuffs I looked up how to do a flexible ripple crochet stitch that LOOKS like it’s knitted, but actually it’s all crochet 🙂

It totally fits with the owl theme of our nursery and even though it’s one of the project that took me the longest to finish I’m in love with how it looks all done!

 

 

2 thoughts on “(Crochet) Baby Poncho – Little Owls

  1. carol

    I would love pattern for my granddaughter, daddy and mommy are in Navy so I do not get to see her that often she is going to be 1 on 1st oct this would be beautiful for her first bday present.

  2. Hi there,
    thank you for your comment! Unfortunately I don’t have an exact pattern for this, I just made it up as I went along – but here are 2 different pattern (one free one to buy) for making an owl-granny-square:

    1. http://www.repeatcrafterme.com/2012/11/owl-granny-square-crochet-pattern.html (free)
    2. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/its-a-hoot-2 (to buy)

    Once you’ve made enough owl-granny squares (in my case 8 for the front and 8 for the back), you just join them together and crochet the edge/border around in a stitch you like.
    I hope I could help with this, even though I never written down the exact pattern of my little project back then :/

Leave a Reply

